Top News

Woolfrey named a Family Physician of the Year

The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) has announced the 2014 Family Physicians of the Year as the recipients of the Reg L. Perkin Award.

Dr. Jody Woolfrey of Botwood – a native of Lewisporte – is one of the nations top family physicians.

The award recipients are nominated by their peers, colleagues, and the CFPC’s 10 provincial chapters for outstanding patient care, significant

contributions to the health and well-being of their local community, and commitment to family medicine teaching and research.

The awards will be presented as part of the CFPC’s annual Family Medicine Forum on Tuesday, Nov. 11, which this year will be held in Quebec City, Quebec.

“It is particularly rewarding to recognize this year’s Family Physicians of the Year as part of the CFPC’s 60th anniversary celebrations,” says

CFPC President, Dr. Kathy Lawrence. “These amazing family physicians contribute to our quality health care system through dedication to their patients, students and residents, research, and their day-to-day practices.

I commend them on their success.”

“It is an honour to present the Reg L. Perkin Award to this year’s award recipients who exemplify what it means to be a Canadian family doctor

— providing exceptional care to patients and contributing to the health and well-being of their communities,” adds Dr. Francine Lemire, CFPC Executive Director and CEO.

“The CFPC is proud to acknowledge their respective accomplishments in many of the unique facets of family medicine.”

Recent Stories