Narendra Modi was sworn in as the Prime Minister of India
image caption, Mr. Modi has been sworn in for the third consecutive term as the Prime Minister of India

Narendra Modi was sworn in as the Prime Minister of India for the third time in a grand ceremony held at the President’s House in Delhi.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader vowed to “be honest with all people without favoritism or favoritism”.

Mr Modi’s BJP-led National Democratic Alliance won the general election with 293 seats, a narrower margin than opinion polls had predicted.

Thousands of guests attended his swearing-in ceremony at the President’s House in Delhi. Among them are the leaders of neighboring Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka and the Maldives – but not Pakistan or China.

Heavy security has been put in place in Delhi, which has been declared a no-fly zone, with more than 2,500 policemen stationed around the stadium.

Speaking as President Draupadi Murmu took oath, Mr Modi said he would uphold India’s sovereignty and integrity and rule with “true faith and loyalty to the Constitution”.

He said: “I will give rights to all categories of people as per the Constitution and law without fear or favour.

The ceremony also saw the inauguration of a group of ministers in Modi’s new cabinet.

Mr Modi, 73, is the second Indian leader to win a third consecutive term after the country’s first prime minister, Jawaharlal Nehru.

The Hindu nationalist BJP party, which has ruled India for a decade, predicted an outright victory for Exit, but lost its parliamentary majority in the general election.

See also  Dan Hurley of UConn, who was irritated by a fan, was hit with a technical foul

His NDA bloc crossed the required 272 seats to form the government with two main allies, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the Janata Dal (United) JD(U).

On Friday, the elected MPs voted for Mr Modi as Speaker of the Lok Sabha (lower house of Parliament), BJP as Parliamentary Party leader and NDA leader.

image caption, Thousands gathered outside the President’s House in Delhi on the occasion of the swearing-in ceremony

It is not clear what concessions his allies may have received in exchange for their support. Indian media reports that many are eyeing key ministerial posts.

The Congress-led opposition All India has termed the election as a mandate against Modi’s government.

Mr Modi, however, countered this on Friday: “The opposition tried to portray the 2024 Lok Sabha results as a loss for us. But we have not lost, we have never lost and we will never lose.”

image caption, Guests at the Presidential Palace were seen fanning themselves

Thanking voters for their mandate, Modi said he would “do everything” to eradicate corruption and poverty.

Empowering the poor and middle class is our priority, he said.

During his election campaign, Mr Modi and his party were accused by critics of using hate speech, attacking the country’s Muslim minority and jailing opposition figures.

On Friday, the Prime Minister-elect said the NDA alliance was committed to the principle of “Sarva Bandh Sambhava” (religious equality).

The Federation of India has said that it will fulfill its duty in Parliament by keeping the government in check and protecting the Constitution.

See also  SEC accuses Frank founder Charlie Javis of defrauding JPMorgan Chase

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *